Chapter News

International Women’s Day 2018: empowering women and girls in the media and ICT

EU Commissioners Vĕra Jourová and Mariya Gabriel, MEPs and 27 MPs from 17 EU national parliaments and Norway will be among the participants in this inter-parliamentary meeting, marking International Women’s Day (IWD).

After introductions by European Parliament President Antonio Tajani and EU Commissioner for gender equality Vĕra Jourová, as well as keynote speeches by Director of Les Suffragettes’ Sarah Gavron and by the founder of MadwomenFest festival Pilar Jurado, the event will be divided into three debates:

– Women shaping media,

– Empowering women and girls through digital inclusion, and

– Women’s movements on the rise: advancing equality in the digital age

Closing remarks will be delivered by EP Vice-President, Chair of the High-level Group on Gender Equality and Diversity, Dimitrios Papadimoulis, and Chair of the EP Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality Vilija Blinkevičiūtė. 

Here is the full programme

Compliments of the European Parliament