Chapter News

Parliament starts new term with seven political groups

As the new European Parliament meets for the first time 2 July, MEPs have formed seven political groups. Read on to find out more.

Ever since the results of the European elections have been in, newly-elected MEPs have been organising themselves into political groups, which bring together representatives from different EU countries based on their political affinities.

According to Parliament rules, a political group must be composed of at least 25 MEPs from at least one-quarter of member states (at the moment that would mean from at least seven countries). MEPs can belong to only one political group, but may choose not to belong to any; they are then called non-attached. Currently, 57 MEPs have opted not to join a political group.

Political groups can be formed at any time during the term. So far, seven have been recognised as fulfilling the necessary criteria.

Political groups enjoy certain advantages: they play an important role in setting the Parliament’s agenda, are allocated more speaking time during debates and are also allocated more office space, staff and  money. They also decide on the set up of parliamentary committees and delegations.

Below are the political groups in order of size as of 2 July 2019:

Political group Chair or co-chairs Number of members
Group of the European People’s Party (EPP) Manfred Weber (Germany). This is his fourth term as an MEP. He has been chairing the group since 2014. 182
Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament (S&D) Iratxe García (Spain). MEP since 2004.  



Renew Europe group Dacian Cioloș (Romania). This is his first term as MEP. He was agricultural commissioner in 2010-2014 and is a former prime minister. 108
Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance (Greens/EFA) Ska Keller (Germany) and Philippe Lamberts (Belgium). Keller has been an MEP since 2009 and became co-president of the group in 2016. Lamberts became an MEP in 2009 and co-president in 2014. 74
Identity and Democracy (ID) Marco Zanni (Italy). MEP since 2014. 73
European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) Ryszard Legutko (Poland) and Raffaele Fitto (Italy). Legutko, an MEP since 2009, became co-chair in 2017. Fitto served as an MEP in 1999-2000 and again since 2014. 62
Confederal Group of the European United Left – Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL) Martin Schirdewan (Germany) is the acting president until the group votes on a new chair. MEP since 2017. 41

Find out more about the political groups and their size in this and previous parliamentary terms on our elections results website.