Member News

New Data Protection Authority Act Published in Belgium

By Heidi Waem | Brussels | +32 2 566 8450 |  & Louisa Vandepitte | Brussels | +32 2 566 8236 | NautaDutilh

On 10 January 2018, the act on the creation of the Data Protection Authority (the “Act”) was published in the Belgian State Gazette. The Act will enter into force on 25 May 2018, except for the provisions relating to the appointment of members of the Executive Committee, the Knowledge Centre and the Dispute Resolution Body, which will enter into force on the publication date.

Thus, as from 25 May 2018, the Belgian Commission for the Protection of Privacy (the “Privacy Commission”) will be replaced by the Data Protection Authority (“Gegevensbeschermingsautoriteit”/”Autorité de protection des données”)

The Data Protection Authority will consist of six bodies:

  • the Executive Committee (“Directiecomité”/”Comité de direction”);
  • the General Secretariat (“Algemeen secretariaat”/”Secrétariat général”);
  • the Front-line Service Centre (“Eerstelijnsdienst”/”Service de première ligne”);
  • the Knowledge Centre (“Kenniscentrum/”Centre de connaissances”);
  • the Inspectorate (“Inspectiedienst”/”Service d’inspection”); and
  • the Dispute Resolution Body (“Geschillenkamer”/”Chambre contentieuse”)

The Data Protection Authority will be supported by an independent Review Council (“Reflectieraad”/”Conseil de reflexion”). The Data Protection Authority will have jurisdiction for the entire territory of Belgium.

More information on the composition and powers of the various constituent bodies can be found in the table below

Compliments of NautaDutilh, a member of the EACCNY