Chapter News

Luxembourg Presidency Starts Today

From July 1 through December 31, 2015, Luxembourg holds the rotating Presidency of the Council of the European Union. This important role is responsible for driving forward the Council’s agenda and its work on legislation, as well as ensuring cooperation among Member States. Learn more.



What is the EU Presidency and how is it distinct from the individual presidencies of the major institutions?

While each of the major EU institutions is led by an individual president—including European Council President Donald Tusk, European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker, and European Parliament President Martin Schulz—the Presidency of the Council of the EU, is shared by the Member States on a rotating basis every six months.

The Council of the EU is responsible for adopting laws (with the European Parliament), coordinating specified policies, developing foreign and security policy, and concluding international agreements. The role of this Presidency is to drive forward the Council’s work on legislation, ensuring the continuity of the EU agenda, orderly legislative processes, and cooperation among Member States.

In the interest of continuity, Member States holding the presidency work together closely in groups of three called “trios”, consisting of the previous, current, and future presidencies: Latvia, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands as of July 1, 2015. The three-Presidency team sets long-term goals, and prepares a common agenda determining the topics and major issues that will be addressed by the Council of the EU over an 18-month period. Each of the three countries prepares its own more detailed six-month program based on the 18 month agenda.

The order of the rotating Presidency has been established through a Council Decision through the end of 2020.