Chapter News, News

EU Parliament elects Jean-Claude Juncker as Commission President

With 422 votes in favour, the European Parliament elected Jean-Claude Juncker in a secret ballot on 15 July as President of the new European Commission to take office on 1 November 2014 for a five year term. The minimum number of votes required was 376.

Jean-Claude Juncker © EU

For the first time in the history of the EU, the European Parliament elected – and not merely approved – the President of the European Commission following a proposal by the European Council, according to the rules laid down in the Lisbon Treaty (December 2009).

422 members voted in favour, 250 against, 47 abstained. The total number of votes cast was 729, 10 of which were non valid.

Candidate of European citizens and governments

As the lead candidate of the party which won most seats in the European elections of 22-25 May, the former Prime Minister of Luxembourg had been nominated as candidate to the EU top position by the European Council on 27 June in a formal vote, with 26 heads of state or government voting in favour of Jean-Claude Juncker (EPP) and two voting against.

Next steps

The Commission President-elect will now send official letters to the member states’ leaders inviting them to propose their candidate members of the Commission.


During the European Parliament’s first session of its new term, members re-elected Martin Schulz as the Parliament’s President and selected 14 vice-presidents, all of whom will serve for the next two and a half years. At its second plenary session today, MEPs selected Jean-Claude Juncker, former prime minister of Luxembourg, as the next President of the European Commission.